Houston's Tytus Howard Named NFLPA’S 2022 Black College Football Pro Player of the Year

Houston's Tytus Howard Named NFLPA’S 2022 Black College Football Pro Player of the Year

WASHINGTON D.C. – Houston Texans offensive lineman Tytus Howard has been named the 2023 winner of the Black College Football Pro Player of the Year presented by the NFL Players Association (NFLPA). The award is presented annually to a top professional football player who attended a Historically Black College and University (HBCU).

Howard is coming off arguably the best showing of his four-year career. While playing primarily at right tackle for the Texans, he allowed only three sacks and five quarterback hits during the 2022-23 campaign. Houston drafted Howard out of Alabama State in the first round of the 2019 NFL Draft. He rewarded the team’s trust by earning All-Rookie honors that season.

“To receive an honor like this is something I will always cherish,” Howard said. “Black colleges have played a large role in producing some great NFL players while providing an example of success for people of color like myself. I’d like to thank the NFLPA for creating this award to uplift HBCUs, and I’m grateful for everyone who has helped me along the way.”
Howard will be recognized as this year’s winner during the 14th annual Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons, on Saturday in Atlanta. The 2023 BCFHOF class features Leslie Frazier, Henry “Killer” Lawrence, Albert Lewis, Jim Marsalis, Tyrone McGriff, Elijah Pitts, Johnnie Walton and Coach Pete Richardson.

Since the award’s 2018 inception, the NFLPA has recognized one active NFL player who serves as a positive influence in his community, has ties to his HBCU alma mater, exhibits good character and has performed at a high level during the most recent NFL season.

Past winners of the NFLPA Black College Football Pro Player of the Year*:

2022: Grover Stewart (Indianapolis Colts)
2021: Terron Armstead (New Orleans Saints)
2020: Javon Hargrave (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2019: Darius Leonard (Indianapolis Colts) and Tarik Cohen (Chicago Bears)
2018: Antoine Bethea (Arizona Cardinals)

*Denotes player’s team at the time he was honored

About the NFL Players Association:

The National Football League Players Association is the union for professional football players in the National Football League. Established in 1956, the NFLPA has a long history of assuring proper recognition and representation of players’ interests. The NFLPA has shown that it will do whatever is necessary to assure that the rights of players are protected—including ceasing to be a union, if necessary, as it did in 1989. In 1993, the NFLPA again was officially recognized as the union representing the players and negotiated a landmark Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NFL. The current CBA will govern the sport through the 2030 NFL season. Learn more at www.nflpa.com.

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame:

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October of 2009 by African-American pioneers and quarterbacks James “Shack” Harris (1974 Pro Bowl MVP) and Doug Williams (Super Bowl XXII MVP) to preserve the history of and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 70 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.