Class of 2024 Finalists

Class of 2024 Finalists

Class of 2024 Finalists

At a glance:

  • 28 Finalists have been selected from over 200 nominees.
  • The Class of 2024 Inductees will be announced on December 14th, 2023.
  • Inductees will be honored during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on June 8th, 2024, in Atlanta, Georgia.

ATLANTA, GA (November 30th, 2023) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced today the 28 Finalists for induction into the Class of 2024. The list includes 23 players and five coaches.

“We would like to congratulate the Class of 2024 Finalists”, said Doug Williams, Super Bowl XXII MVP, Chairman and Co-Founder of the Hall of Fame. “Each of these men represents the absolute best of Black College Football.”

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 200 nominees by a 10-member Selection Committee composed of prominent journalists, commentators, historians, former NFL General Managers and football executives.

“Thank you to the selection committee for their dedication and hard work in selecting this year’s Finalists,” said Committee Chairman Charlie Neal. “The job of the selection committee is not easy, but the passion for preserving the history of Black College Football shows in this year’s group of Finalists.”

The Class of 2024 will be announced on December 14th, 2023. They will be recognized for the first time at the Allstate HBCU Legacy Bowl in New Orleans on February 24th, 2024 and honored during the 15th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, June 8th, 2024 in Atlanta, Georgia. For more information, please visit


  • Julius Adams (DE, Texas Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • George Atkinson (S, Morris Brown, 1965-1968)
  • Antoine Bethea, (DB, Howard University, 2002-2005)
  • Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)
  • Larry Brooks (DT, Virginia State University, 1969-1972)
  • Vince Buck (DB, Central State University, 1986-1989)
  • Waymond Bryant (LB, Tennessee State University, 1970-1973)
  • Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)
  • Henry Dyer (RB, Grambling State University, 1963-1965)
  • Vernon Holland (OL, Tennessee State University, 1967-1970)
  • Richard Huntley (RB, Winston-Salem State University, 1992-1995)
  • Ezra Johnson (DL, Morris Brown University, 1973-1976)
  • Rashean Mathis (DB, Bethune-Cookman University, 1999-2002)
  • Jacquay Nunnally (WR, Florida A&M University, 1997-2000)
  • Lemar Parrish (RB, Lincoln University, 1966-1969)
  • Tyrone Poole (DB, Fort Valley State University, 1991-1994)
  • Anthony Pleasant (DE, Tennessee State University, 1987-1990)
  • Jake Reed (WR, Grambling State University, 1987-1990)
  • Eddie Robinson, Jr. (LB, Alabama State University, 1988-1991)
  • Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (DB, Tennessee State University, 2004-2007)
  • John Thierry (DE, Alcorn State University, 1991-1994)
  • Jay “Sky” Walker (QB, Howard University 1991-1994)


  • Rod Broadway (Head Football Coach, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina A&T, Grambling State University, 2003-2017)
  • Rudy Hubbard (Head Football Coach, Florida A&M University, 1974-1985)
  • Eddie Hurt (Head Football Coach, Morgan State University, 1929-1959)
  • Fred “Pop” Long (Head Football Coach, Wiley College 1921- 1965)
  • Doug Porter (Head Football Coach, Mississippi Valley State University 1961-1965, Howard University 1974-1985, Fort Valley State University 1987-1996)


The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded in 2009 by African-American pioneers, quarterbacks James Harris and Doug Williams to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been over 100 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) soon will have a permanent home at the Pro Football Hall of Fame (PFHOF) to tell the story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).


The Allstate HBCU Legacy Bowl, presented by the Black College Football Hall of Fame is a postseason all-star game that showcases the top 100 NFL draft-eligible football players from Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The game will be played on the Saturday, February 24, 2024, in New Orleans, Louisiana at Tulane University, and broadcast live on NFL Network. More than a football game, the week-long celebration of Black culture and history will provide invaluable exposure for HBCU students. HBCU Legacy Bowl Founding Partners include Allstate, the National Football League, adidas, Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes and his 15 and the Mahomies Foundation, Coca-Cola, Coors Light, The New Orleans Saints, The State of Louisiana, Riddell, The Sugar Bowl, Zebra Technologies, and the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Follow the HBCU Legacy Bowl on social media via @HBCULegacyBowl or visit for more information.