Banner Image



ATLANTA, GA (November 15, 2022) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today the 25 Finalists for induction into the Class of 2023 for the Black College Football Hall of Fame. The list includes 21 players and four coaches.

“We congratulate the Class of 2023 Finalists and look forward to welcoming the next group of legends into the Black College Football Hall of Fame,” said James “Shack” Harris, Chairman and Co-Founder. “Each Finalist represents the best of Black College Football.”

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 200 nominees by an 11-member Selection Committee composed of prominent journalists, commentators, historians, former NFL General Managers and football executives.  

“A big thank you to the selection committee for their dedication and hard work in selecting this year’s finalists,” said Committee Chairman Charlie Neal. “The one common thread the committee found among this year’s finalists is football reveals character and the character of this year’s finalists is at the top of the list.”

This year’s inductees will be announced on December 8, 2022. They will be recognized for the first time at the Second Annual HBCU Legacy Bowl in New Orleans on February 25, 2023 and honored during the 14th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, June 10, 2023 in Atlanta, Georgia. For more information, please visit


•       Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)

•       Antoine Bethea (DB, Howard University, 2002-2005)

•       Verlon Biggs (DE, Jackson State University, 1962-1965)

•       Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)

•       Waymond Bryant (LB, Tennessee State University, 1970-1973)

•       Vince Buck (DB, Central State University, 1986-1989)

•       Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)

•       Leslie Frazier (DB, Alcorn State University, 1978-1980)

•       Mike Holmes (WR, Texas Southern University, 1970-1973)

•       Richard Huntley (RB, Winston-Salem State University, 1992-1995)

•       Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)

•       Albert Lewis (DB, Grambling State University, 1979-1982)

•       Jim Marsalis (DB, Tennessee State University, 1962-1965)

•       Rashean Mathis (DB, Bethune-Cookman University, 1999-2002)

•       Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)

·        Lemar Parrish (RB, Lincoln University MO, 1966-1969)

•       Elijah Pitts (RB, Philander Smith College, 1958-1961)

•       Tyrone Poole (DB, Fort Valley State University, 1991-1994)

•       Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (DB, Tennessee State University, 2004-2007)

•       Jay Walker (QB, Howard University 1991-1994)

•       Johnnie Walton (QB, Elizabeth City State University, 1965-1968)  


•       Rudy Hubbard (Head Football Coach, Florida A&M University 1974-1985)

•       Fred “Pop” Long (Head Football Coach, Wiley College 1921- 1965)

•       Doug Porter (Head Football Coach, Mississippi Valley State University 1961-1965, Howard University 1974-1985, Fort Valley State University 1987-1996)

•      Pete Richardson (Head Football Coach, Winston Salem State University, Southern University 1988-2009)

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame 

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded in 2009 by African-American pioneers, quarterbacks James Harris and Doug Williams to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been over 100 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) soon will have a permanent home at the Pro Football Hall of Fame (PFHOF) to tell the story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

About the HBCU Legacy Bowl

The HBCU Legacy Bowl, presented by the Black College Football Hall of Fame is a postseason all-star game that showcases the top 100 NFL draft-eligible football players from Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The game will be played on the Saturday, February 25, 2023 (Yulman Stadium at Tulane University), and broadcast live on NFL Network. More than a football game, the week-long celebration of Black culture and history will provide invaluable exposure for HBCU students. HBCU Legacy Bowl Founding Partners include the National Football League, adidas, Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes and his 15 and the Mahomies Foundation, Coca-Cola, Coors Light, Home DepotNew Orleans Saints, Riddell, State Farm, Sugar Bowl, Tulane University, Zebra Technologies, and the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Follow the HBCU Legacy Bowl on social media via @HBCULegacyBowl or visit for more information.