Banner Image

Bowie State Quarterback Amir Hall Wins Deacon Jones Trophy And Repeats As The Black College Football Player Of The Year

Atlanta, GA (February 16, 2019) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame has announced that Bowie State senior quarterback Amir Hall has once again won the the Deacon Jones Trophy, being named the 2018 Black College Football Player of the Year.

Black College Football Hall of Fame Trustees James "Shack" Harris and Doug Williamsmade the announcement during the 2019 Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Atlanta on Saturday night. The Award recognizes the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU) that embodies the rich tradition of athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs. 

Hall led the Bulldogs to a second consecutive berth in the NCAA Division II playoffs and a first round win, in what was the most successful season Bulldogs Football history. He threw for 4,152 yards and 38 total touchdowns, and set the CIAA all-time leading passing record in yards and touchdowns along the way. Hall was named the CIAA Offensive Player of the Year and was invited to play in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl.

After three years as the Bulldogs starting quarterback, Hall owns nearly every school passing record, including passing yards, touchdowns and passing efficiency. Additionally, he is a two-time winner of the SBN Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year Award.

“The four finalists this year had outstanding seasons,” said Harris. “Amir had one of the most prolific seasons for a quarterback in Black College Football history, and we congratulate him on winning this prestigious award for the second time.” 

The Player of the Year was voted on by a five-member Selection Committee, which is composed of Black College Football Hall of Fame Co-Founders James “Shack” Harris andDoug Williams, Sheridan Broadcast Network’s Director of Sports Ty Miller, former USA Today sports writer Roscoe Nance and ESPN College Football Analyst Jay Walker.

Hall was also the recipient of the Deacon Jones Trophy for the 2017 season. The inaugural winner in 2016 was Tarik Cohen of North Carolina A&T State University, who is now a star on the Chicago Bears. Tarik was named First Team All-Pro and selected to the NFL Pro Bowl after this past season.

Other Black College Football Player of the Year Award Finalists included DE Darryl Johnson(North Carolina A&T State University), QB Noah Johnson (Alcorn State University) and QBCaylin Newton (Howard University).

About Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October of 2009 by African-American pioneers and quarterbacks, Pro Bowl MVP James "Shack" Harris and Super Bowl MVP Doug Williams, to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 77 Inductees since inception, including Mel BlountJames HarrisWillie LanierArt Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.

About Deacon Jones

David “Deacon” Jones played defensive end for South Carolina State University and Mississippi Valley State University from 1958 to 1960. Blessed with speed, agility, and quickness, the “Deacon” became one of the finest pass rushers in the business. He won unanimous All-NFL honors six straight years from 1965 through 1970 and was selected to eight Pro Bowls. Jones is an inaugural Black College Football Hall of Fame inductee (2010) and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.