Banner Image

Black College Football Hall Of Fame Class Of 2015 Announced

November 5, 2014 (Atlanta, GA) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced its Class of 2015 today. Seven inductees were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.

The Class includes Roger Brown (University of Maryland Eastern Shore), Richard Dent (Tennessee State University), L.C. Greenwood (University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff) Ernie “Big Cat” Ladd (Grambling State University), Ken Riley (Florida A&M University), Donnie Shell (South Carolina State University) and Coach W.C. Gorden (Jackson State University).

Votes were tallied from the 13-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from previous BCFHOF inductees to determine the Class of 2015.

Inductees will be honored at the Sixth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons. The event will take place at the recently opened College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia on February 28, 2015. For more information please visit



Roger Brown

Defensive Tackle … University of Maryland Eastern Shore … Inducted into College Football Hall of Fame (2009) … NAIA All-American (1958, 1959) … Detroit Lions (1960-1966), Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams (1967-1969) … 10 seasons in NFL … Selected by Lions in 4th round, 42nd player overall (1960 NFL Draft) … NFL Pro Lineman of the Year (1962) … Elected to six Pro Bowls … Member of the Rams “Fearsome Foursome” … Born May 1, 1937 in Surry County, VA.



Richard Dent

Defensive End … Tennessee State University … Chicago Bears (1983-1993), San Francisco 49ers (1994), Chicago Bears (1995), Indianapolis Colts (1996), Philadelphia Eagles (1997) … 15 seasons … Selected by Bears in 8th round, 203rd player overall (1983 NFL Draft) … Named All-Pro five times … Elected to four Pro Bowls … Two time Super Bowl Champion (XX, XXIX) … Super Bowl XX MVP … Member of 100 sacks club (137.5 career sacks) … Inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame (2011) … Born December 13, 1960 in Atlanta, GA.



L.C. Greenwood

Defensive End … University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff … 1968 Ebony All-American defensive lineman in the Southwestern Athletic Conference … Pittsburgh Steelers (1969-1981) … 13 seasons … Selected by Steelers in 10th round 238th player overall (1969 NFL Draft) … Named All-Pro two times … Elected to six Pro Bowls … Four time Super Bowl Champion (IX, X, XIII, XIV) … Named to Super Bowl’s Silver Anniversary team (1991) … Named to the 1970s NFL All-Decade Team … Born September 8, 1946 in Canton, MS … Died September 29, 2013.



Ernie Ladd

Defensive Tackle … Grambling State University … Attended Grambling State University on a basketball scholarship before playing football … San Diego Chargers (1961-1965), Houston Oilers (1966-1967), Kansas City Chiefs (1967-1968) … 8 seasons … Selected by Chargers in 15th round 119th player overall (1961 AFL Draft) … AFL Title (1963) … Four time AFL All-Star … Named All-Pro three times … Member of Chargers Hall of Fame … Inducted into WWE Hall of Fame (1995) … Born November 28, 1938 in Rayville, LA … Died March 10, 2007.


KEN RILEY (Player)

Ken Riley

Defensive Back … Florida A&M University … Played quarterback for FAMU … Rhodes Scholarship candidate … Cincinnati Bengals (1969-1983) … 14 seasons … Selected by Bengals in 6th round 135th player overall (1969 NFL Draft) … Converted to DB … Named All-Pro four times … Retired with fourth most career interceptions (65) … 65 interceptions and five TD returns are Bengals team records … Florida High School Association All-Century Team member … Born August 6, 1947 in Bartow, FL.



Donnie Shell

Strong Safety … South Carolina State University … All-American and All-Conference as member of SCSU Bulldogs … Inducted into College Football Hall of Fame (1998) … Pittsburgh Steelers (1974-1987) … Signed by Steelers as undrafted free agent … Elected to five Pro Bowls … Named All-Pro four times … Steelers team MVP (1980) … Four time Super Bowl Champion (IX, X, XII, XIV) … Retired with most interceptions by a strong safety (51) … Named to Black College 100-year team … Born August 26, 1952 in Whitmire, SC.


W.C. GORDEN (Coach)

W.C. Gorden

Coach … Jackson State University (1977-1991) … Won 8 SWAC Championships (1980-1982, 1985-1988, 1990) … Played college football at Tennessee State University (1948-1952) … Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a Coach (2008) … Career coaching record is 118 wins, against 47 losses with 5 ties … Born June 30, 1930 in Nashville, TN.


About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October 2009 to honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Its trustees are football legends Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams. The Black College Football Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Shack Harris & Doug Williams Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, tax-exempt organization.