Banner Image

BCFHOF Announces 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award Watch List



Atlanta, GA (August 14, 2019) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today the 2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University. Former North Carolina A&T, and current Chicago Bears running back Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016; Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was the 2017 and 2018 recipient.

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 22, 2020 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on December 6, 2019.

“There are many gifted football players competing at Historically Black Colleges and Universities right now,” said Super Bowl XXII MVP and BCFHOF co-founder Doug Williams. “This Award is a way for the Black College Football Hall of Fame to recognize these talented student-athletes.”

“The Deacon Jones Trophy is the most coveted individual award a football player from an HBCU can receive,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “I enjoy monitoring the progress of these young men throughout the season.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2019 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a Selection Committee.

First Name Last Name Position School Class Conference
Kyle Anthony WR Howard University Senior MEAC
Solomon Bassett DL Lincoln University (PA) Senior CIAA
Elijah Bell WR North Carolina A&T Senior MEAC
Jordan Bentley RB Alabama A&M Senior SWAC
Traviontae Brown DB Benedict College Senior SIAC
Brian Cavicante LB Delaware State Junior MEAC
Qwynnterrio Cole DB Alcorn State Junior SWAC
Santo Dunn RB Morehouse College Junior SIAC
Jequez Ezzard WR Howard University Senior MEAC
Marques Ford DL Bethune-Cookman Senior MEAC
Deondre Francois QB Hampton University GR Big South
Aqeel Glass QB Alabama A&M Junior SWAC
Stevie Green RB Fayetteville State Senior CIAA
Kevin Greenhow WR Central State Junior SIAC
Sterling Hammond DB Virginia Union Senior CIAA
Joseph Harris, Jr. LB Saint Augustine's University Soph CIAA
Marquis Hendrix LB Bethune-Cookman Senior MEAC
Devon Hunt LB Shaw University Senior CIAA
Noah Johnson QB Alcorn State Senior SWAC
Rico Kennedy LB Morgan State Senior MEAC
Jah-maine Martin RB North Carolina A&T Junior MEAC
Ian McBorrough LB Morgan State Junior MEAC
Mac McCain III DB North Carolina A&T Junior MEAC
Joseph McWilliams DB Grambling State Senior SWAC
Trevor Merritt DB Bethune-Cookman Senior MEAC
Javen Morrison DB Alcorn State Senior SWAC
Jalen Morton QB Prairie View A&M Senior SWAC
Solomon Muhammad LB Alcorn State Senior SWAC
Anfernee Mullins DL Grambling State Senior SWAC
Caylin Newton QB Howard University Junior MEAC
Ju’Anthony Parker DB Prairie View A&M Senior SWAC
Dedrick Parson RB Howard University Soph MEAC
Taeyler Porter RB Arkansas-Pine Bluff Senior SWAC
Joshua Pryor DL Bowie State Soph CIAA
Jimmie Robinson WR Bethune-Cookman Senior MEAC
Chris Rowland WR Tennessee State Senior OVC
Michael Sims QB Morehouse College Junior SIAC
Daryus Skinner DB Winston-Salem State Senior CIAA
Xavier Smith WR FAMU Soph MEAC
Brandon Smith KR Fayetteville State Junior CIAA
Austin Stephens LB Miles College Senior SIAC
Tabyus Taylor RB Virginia Union Soph CIAA
Davoris Thomas LB Tuskegee University Senior SIAC
Isaiah Totten RB North Carolina Central Junior MEAC
Dawonya Tucker RB Prairie View A&M Senior SWAC
Leonard Tyree WR Miles College Senior SIAC
De’Shawn Waller RB Alcorn State Senior SWAC
Camron Young DB Fort Valley State Senior SIAC

About Black College Football Hall of Fame 

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October of 2009 by African-American pioneers and quarterbacks, Pro Bowl MVP James "Shack" Harris and Super Bowl MVP Doug Williams, to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 77 Inductees since inception, including Mel BlountJames HarrisWillie LanierArt Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.

About Deacon Jones

David “Deacon” Jones played defensive end for South Carolina State University and Mississippi Valley State University from 1958 to 1960. Blessed with speed, agility, and quickness, the “Deacon” became one of the finest pass rushers in the business. He won unanimous All-NFL honors six straight years from 1965 through 1970 and was selected to eight Pro Bowls. Jones is an inaugural Black College Football Hall of Fame inductee (2010) and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.